#134 Sosinos Monastery


In a prominent position on top of Mount Sosinos, near the village of Parakalamos, lies the monastery of Sosinos.

Construction Data

Architecturally, the initial construction except the cells and the auxiliary rooms, included high walls, which formed part of the fortifications of the monastery. Its katholikon, is a cross-in-square church with a dome and consists of the nave, narthex and outer narthex. The nave is dominated by four pillars which support the high dome.

Inside the monastery, the low light and elaborate decoration create an atmosphere of devoutness and religiousness. Much of the interior is full of religious paintings, among which the dedicatory fresco of the narthex stands out, which depicts its founders Ioannis Kondaratos, Emmanuel Kondaratos and Kyritzis Ioannakis who possibly have usurped the title. The monastery also had a rich library with rare manuscripts, portable pictures, vestments and holy vessels, which were indicative of the grandeur which characterized the monastery. Its rare treasure is however not saved, since it was looted and destroyed.

The Monastery of Sosinos is a historical monument (Official Gazette 404/6-7-62. T.v)

Historical Data

Few reports have survived for the initial dating of the monastery, however sources indicate it was built before 1430, but it is known with greater certainty, that was destroyed and rebuilt in 1598 by Ioannis Simotas. The monastery is dedicated to the Annunciation. Its special glamor is due to a series sigilla and Patriarchal decrees, most important being its recognition as Stavropegial in 1598, which strengthen the position of the monastery and increase its privileges. Since 1925, it came under the jurisdiction of the Monastery of Vella and Konitsa.

Apart from its devotional role, the monastery played an important social and educational task, since for 126 years, was the spiritual center of the region, which was not only attended by several students, but great teachers had also taught.

The upward course of the monastery stopped abruptly, with reaching a breaking point in 1955, when its lands were granted to the farmers.

Additional information of historical, cultural and tourism interest

Almost every village has surprises that challenge/cause the visitor to explore them.

Kefalovryso, the old big village of the area develops intense economic activity even today, because, apart from the livestock activities, it hosts the machining factory, the well-known "Metallurgical Industry", in which euro coins have been manufactured.

Dolo is one of the most beautiful villages in the region. Since 1978 it is a featured traditional settlement, due to its significant architectural features, which were stockpile.

Apart from people's works, Dolo is also endowed by nature, which gave it a unique landscape that is formed around Kouvaras' ravine.

Palaiopyrgos village has also a strong archaeological interest, as on the banks of Gormos river, in Plasi and Palioura location, the archaeological excavations brought to light two settlements of the early iron age.

Delvinaki has been the historical centre of Pogoni for years.

A village which stands out both for its rare beauty and its architectural heritage is Visani.

In Oreokastro village there are the sources of Glava, from which Gormos River is formed.

One of the most important economic and administrative centres of the region and the headquarters of the municipality of Ano Kalamas is Parakalamos which is located at an altitude of 400 m. and is 45km. away from Ioannina.

A unique natural gem of the area is Zaravina Lake. The Lake is included in the area of the Natura 2000 network, under the name "Mount Douskon, Oraiokastro, Meropi forest, Gormos plain, Lake of Delvinaki (GR 2130010)" band indeed is one of the main reasons for the integration of the region in the European network of protected areas.

In an area of rich vegetation and fascinating nature, there are the ravine and the waterfalls of Kalamas.

One of the most beautiful villages of the region, Pogoniani, stands out both for its natural environment and its cultural contribution.

Built amphitheatrically, near Greek-Albanian borders, lies Staurodromi village. Amongst its buildings, St Ioannis' the Baptist church stands out, which was built in 1183 and is one of the oldest monasteries in Epirus.

Near to the frontier station and to the custom of Kakavia, there is Ktismata village. In the region the stain of the ancient greek culture is evident, because evaluatively, in Ktismata are kept the most important discoveries of Pogoni. There we meet findings of the ancient city "Kastri", which is the second oldest city of Epirus.