#42 Fulling Mill (Tristeno)

Location

Tristeno is a village of the Regional Unit of Ioannina, Municipality of Zagoria. Located on the eastern slopes of Tymfi at an altitude of 940 meters

The watermill is located about one kilometer from the village square and you will arrive there after walking the well-preserved stone streets of the village. The route that you will follow and the landscape you will encounter, worth the effort and the time you spend.


Construction Data

The traditional stone watermill has been declared as a protected monument. According to information that gives us the information panel that there is, the construction is lost in depths of time, but its present form took it in the 19th century. Previously there was near three storey inn which included guest house, laboratory of agricultural tools, cobblers. At first it was double and had two production units. In the past it was burned twice, once in 1920 and once in 1943. The water mill was renovated in recent years and functions again. At the entrance was sign which labeled it "grinds on Tuesdays."

The current building has a rectangular shape and is half duplex. The small room of the floor was used as a residence by the respective miller. Next to the mill there is a stone bridge, which connects the two banks of the stream Goura, which cuts the village in two, and the whole scenery completes a very small waterfall that falls into a pond, created after construction a small barrier. So if you go through the Tristeno, do not forget to visit the mill and the small waterfall.

Reference point of the village is the traditional stone watermill that was built in 1835. At first it was double with two production units and was able to grind 100 kilos of grain per hour. In recent years it was renovated and functions again. It is one of the last mills in the country running. Finally the stone bridge that connects the village cut in two the stream of that crosses Goura. There, in 1975 the Brotherhood of Tristenioton wanting to utilize the waterfall constructed barrier creating a small lake surface about 200 sq.m.


Historical Data

Tristeno of East Zagori is not known when it was established as a village. Written, it is first mentioned in a golden bull in 1319 of Andronikos II, to some ruler of Ioannina with the name Drestenikos, whose name was at least until the last century in Ioannina. Apparently, after his name was named the village Drestenikou and later Dresteniko and Ntresteniko. Several years after the liberation of Epirus (1912-1913), in 1927, a decree renamed it to Tristeno, from the three channels that are above the village. As first settlers were listed pastors from the stream that brought their sheep grazed in Zagori in the summer. This version does not accept residents who think that the view that the first settlers came from Veria and were craftsmen trays. Tristeno, was referred to as the place of death of the fighter of the Balkan Wars, Hadjimichael Constantine, 1913.


Additional information of historical, cultural and tourism interest

Famous for their spectacular natural beauty, their unique architecture, but also for their long history, Zagorochoria have become in recent years a popular tourist attraction throughout the year.

Extreme sports fans will find in Zagorochoria their earthly heaven, as the region is offered for a plethora of activities. Kayak - Rafting, mountain bike, Climbing, Parapente and hiking are some of the sports one can enjoy when he visits Zagorochoria.

The festivals organized in the villages, especially during the summer, honoring the village patron saint give the visitor the opportunity, not only to have fun with the wonderful traditional music, but also to know the culture of Zagori.

Vikos or Vitsiko owes its name to the homonym gorge. There, also imposing is the church of Saint Tryfonas (1871). The village constitutes a starting point for climbing routes towards Vikos gorge. Near the banks of Voidomaris we meet the monastery of Panagia of Vikos, which is built in 1738.

In the Megalo Papingo we find the temple of Saint Vlasios, built in 1852 on the site of an older temple built in 912. In Mikro Papingo there is "The information center for the nature and civilization in Zagori", while Vitsa has picturesque cobbled roads and beautiful mansions from the 19th century that take you back to the glorious times of the region. Those of Veloyiannis, Vasdekis and Skevi stand out.

In the square of Monodendri Saint Athanasios (1804) is located, a three-aisled basilica with wood-carved chancel and icons painted by Russian hagiographers. The villages has many cobbled roads, stone built houses and mansions.

In the Ano Pedina, it is worth visiting the churches of St. Demetrius (1793), St. Georges and the Assumption, as well as the Lambradios School (1934), in which they teach weaver lessons. We mustn't neglect to mention the fact that here lived as monk the known cleric and scholar from Ano Pedina Neophytos Doukas. Its charitable work is also important, as it funded many projects and contributed to the creation of the Hellenic school (gymnasium) in the settlement. In the location "Kastro" northwest of the settlement of Elafotopos, ruins are saved from the walled settlement of Molossoi, from the Classic era (4th - 3rd century BC). The visitor can wander the beautiful, graphic cobbled roads of the village and admire the stone fountains and the unique mansions.

Dilofo Square prevails the imposing building of Anagnostopoulios School, founded in 1855 by Ioannis and Demetrius Anagnostopoulos but also the four-storey mansion in the village entrance, a 13,5m tall building built with white carved stone. It is worth visiting the temple of the Assumption (1857).

Kipoi have also been characterized as the village of bridges due to the plethora of stone bridges located in the area, some of which are among the most impressive in Epirus, while Negades Village is known for the dark houses and its tall mansions and the church of St. George that stands out.

Dikorfo is one of the most graphic villages of Zagori, with exceptional architecture, large stone houses, churches and elaborate works of painters from Chioniades.

One of the jewels of Zagori, the village Koukouli is crossed by two main cobbled roads ending in the location Aloni. It is worth visiting the temple of the Assumption, one if the most beautiful churches in the area.

A feature of the village Kapesovo is the scarce plantation and the dominance of the rocky scenery. Vradeto is the highest village of the region, that's why it is called "the balcony of Zagori". The Ladder of Vradeto forms 39 "kagkelia" (turns) and it comprises of 1100 stairs.

Tsepelovo is a special, great chapter in the history and civilization of Zagori. It has unique stone-built roads and mansions, of which stand out the Center Papazoglou, Vazima and Tsavalia. The temple of St. Nicolaos (8th century) is a typical sample of the architecture of Zagori.

If you visit the village you will enjoy unique sceneries and large forests with the presence of the bear always felt just a breath away from the village. You have the opportunity to hike many trails in the heart of the National Forest but also enjoy unique routes in the nature.

On the south side of the village there are ruins of an ancient wall of the Hellenistic period, while in the area there has been found an altar with sculptured busts of Ares, Apollo and Hera, while Greveniti, one of the vlachochoria in the region of Zagori offers a majestic view, surrounded by dense forest and streaming waters.

The National Forest Vikos - Aoos is one of the regions included in the network Natura 2000 and since 2005 in the National Park of North Pindus. The Forest is divided in the Municipalities of Konitsa, Central Zagori and Tymfi, as well as the community of Papingo. The total area reaches 13.000 acres and includes the Aoos gorge on the north, the gorges of Vikos and Voidomatis on the south, as well as a big part of the mountain range of Tymfi.

The Forest includes locations of rare natural beauty, wide variety of ecosystems and kinds of flora and wild fauna. At lower altitudes are included ecosystems of Mediterranean type, while in between grow ecosystems of oak, as well as forests of black pine and fir, while interesting are the perennial clusters of Bosnian pine. Also impressive are the small alpine lakes, like Drakolimni of Tymfi 2050m.

As a result of the union of the National Forests of Vikos-Aoos and Pindus (Valia Kalnta), in 2005 the National Park of North Pindus is established. The main purpose for its creation is the maintenance and the proper management of the ecosystems, the rare habitats and the species of flora and fauna, as well as the insurance of the harmonic coexistence of human and nature in the context of sustainable development.

Besides the two National Forests, the National Park of North Pindus includes in its boundaries eleven regions that belong in the Paneuropean Network of Protected Areas "Natura 2000". It includes almost the whole area of Zagori, a section of Konitsa and Metsovo and the western part of the Grevena Prefecture. The National Park of North Pindus is one of the largest land Protected Regions in our country with an area reaching 1.969.741 acres. The unique combination of natural scenery and human environment makes it one of the most important regions in a national and European level.

Other places that can be visited by nature lovers are the so called varathra that were created around Papingo and especially in mountains Gkamila and Astraka. Varathra were formed by the combined action of water and ice.

"Provatina" is one of the largest varathra in the world, with 408 m depth. Another varathro is the "Chasm of Epos". It's a scalar varathro, 451m deep, which functions as a cesspit and drains the water The "Trypa tis Nymfis" has a total depth of 340m. This cave functions as a cesspit like the Epos, since it collects the waters of the area. Finally "Gkailotrypa" has 200 m depth. Recently, a new varathro was discovered, the so called "Trypa toy Orniou", 610 m. deep.